Chapel Hill & Durham Breastfeeding and Newborn Care Classes

Breastfeeding 101

Although benefits of breastfeeding are well known, research shows that many women do not meet their breastfeeding goals. This two-hour class helps you learn how to:

  • prepare for the first few important weeks of breastfeeding
  • establish a good milk supply & confirm baby is getting enough milk
  • prevent & solve common problems
  • build family support & learn when and where to seek professional help if needed

Newborn Care

Gather information and gain confidence as new parents. This two-hour, hands-on class offers:

  • Tips for understanding how babies communicate
  • Head-to-toe care: cords, circumcision, diapers, bathing & sick care
  • Techniques to: manage crying, establish good sleep patterns, promote effective feeding, boost parent-child interaction

Cost (Partner or family member comes free):

$40 per class

Class Instructor:

Jan Tedder, a nurse practitioner and lactation consultant, has 30 years’ experience serving babies and their parents. She developed the HUG Your Baby program to educate parents and the professionals who serve them. Her online training had been completed by 2,000 professionals,  and her parent education resources are used in twenty countries around the world. Jan Tedder resume

Location & Schedule – (Pick the one that fits your schedule):

Chapel Hill OBGYN 120 Conner Drive, Chapel Hill, NC 27514

Breastfeeding Classes 9:30-11:30 AM       Newborn Care Classes 12-2 PM

  • June 9 (Sat)
  • July 28 (sat)
  • Aug 25 (Sat)
  • Sept 15 (Sat)
  • Oct 6 (sat)
  • Nov 10 (Sat)
  • Dec 8 (Sat)

Durham Women’s Clinic 209 E. Carver Street, Durham, NC 27704

Breastfeeding Classes 9:30-11:30 AM       Newborn Care Classes 12-2 PM

  • June 10 (Sun)
  • July 22 (Sun)
  • Aug 26 (Sun)
  • Sept 16 (Sun)
  • Oct 7 (Sun)
  • Nov 11 (Sun)
  • Dec 9 (Sun)